Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

SOOOOOO, I can’t believe that 2020 is already half over! This year has simultaneously flown by while also lasting forever. I’ve read a lot of books so I had some trouble choosing these books, but I hope you enjoy my Mid Year Book Freak Out post!

You can click any of the photos of the books below and be linked to the GoodReads page for the book!

WHAT IS THE BEST BOOK THAT YOU HAVE READ SO FAR IN 2020?

These were some of my favorites. This list is non-exhaustive, as I have soooo many good reads this year. I can’t just pick one. I’m sure many can relate to that feeling!

WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR FAVORITE SEQUEL OF THE FIRST HALF OF THE YEAR?

I love a good story with gray morality and none of the characters here are objectively -good.- They all think they are good and doing the right thing and they all do bad things for their own reasons. I highly recommend this series if you haven’t read it already. You can read my thoughts on this sequel here. (There are spoilers for the first book in the series, Vicious, so if you have not read that one, I would recommend staying away from my review until you have read the first one)

IS THERE A NEW RELEASE THAT YOU HAVEN’T READ YET, BUT YOU’RE REALLY EXCITED TO?

This book came out in March, and I’ve been putting it off for whatever reason. This is a book about the Bone Crier’s who ferry the souls of the dead. It follows Ailesse, who is prepared to become the matriarch of the Bone Criers. To become a Bone Crier, she must first kill the boy who she is destined to love. It also follows Bastien, who is looking to capture a Bone Crier and have vengeance for the death of his father, killed by a B.C years earlier. I’m really looking forward to this one and will probably read it in October or the Fall season 🙂

WHAT IS YOUR MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEAR?

Coming out August 11th

Coming out October 6th

Coming out August 4th

Coming out September 29th

Coming out November 17th

Coming out October 13th

I could not just choose one here. There are so many amazing books that are being released in the second half of 2020, and I couldn’t even include them all here. These are some of the ones I’m most excited for though! If you one more info, click the photos for the GoodReads page! (It will open in a new tab.)

WHAT IS YOUR BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT SO FAR?

I was really disappointed with these. I didn’t review Soulless, but it was disappointing and overall boring. As far as The Deep goes, I was just disappointed with the ending and the way that the paranormal aspects were handled. I had a bunch of ideas of what this was going to be and all of those were better than this book. Like I said, I was disappointed. It just wasn’t for me. If you want to read my review, click here.

WHAT IS YOUR BIGGEST SURPRISE SO FAR?

When I was told that this world had a very soft magic system I was ready to be disappointed. When there is a soft magic system I am generally disappointed because I definitely like structure and rules, especially when it come to magic. While this world had a magic system that was soft and fluid and I feel like the author definitely took some liberties, I genuinely enjoyed this world. The writing was beautiful and the fairy tale elements were some of my favorites.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE NEW TO YOU OR DEBUT AUTHOR?

This was such a good and beautiful book. This is not Lori M. Lee’s first book, but it was my first book that I read by her. I loved it so much and definitely plan to read more from her and any future books that she puts out. I really can’t wait for the next book in this series!

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FICTIONAL CRUSH FROM THIS YEAR?

Sirscha Ashwyn from Forest of Souls by Lori M. Lee. I’ve included a link to the artist who drew the art included above. Their name is Dimary on Deviantart. This particular piece of art can be found here.

WHO IS YOUR NEW FAVORITE CHARACTER?

What can I say, I’m a girl of simple tastes. Again, the artist is Dimary on Deviantart and can be found here, or by clicking on the beautiful art above. Oh, also read Forest of Souls by Lori M. Lee.

A BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY?

Okay, so this nonfiction book about the death of democracy did not make me CRY necessarily, but it made me VERY sad. I read through this and saw the parallels between the US state of politics and the state of politics of many countries before us and the similarities were chilling. While this book is a little out of date (and things have gotten WORSE since it has been written) I would still recommend this. It was incredibly eye opening and informative.

A BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY?

I recognize that Sarah J Maas has some problematic aspects. I’ll say that first and foremost. That being said, I’m SJM trash. I really liked this book. It was typical SJM writing and love interest, but I really liked this romance. The last 200 pages were so fast-paced and the ending made me so incredibly happy. When I finished this book, I NEEDED the sequel. I’ll be honest, I still do.

YOUR FAVORITE BOOK TO MOVIE/TV SHOW THAT YOU’VE SEEN SO FAR?

I’ll be honest, I haven’t been watching a lot of book to movie/tv shows lately. For one, movie theaters are closed due to COVID and two, I haven’t really kept up to date with the releases for TV shows. I know for a fact that I’ll watch Shadow and Bone when it comes out later this year though!

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE POST THAT YOU HAVE WRITTEN SO FAR THIS YEAR?

This is a tough one! I’ve been so meh about writing and only really started to actively write posts recently. I’d say some of my favorites are:

How to Be A Better Ally: Books on How to Be AntiRacist
Books Set on the Ocean
Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of 2020
Forest of Souls Book Tour

WHAT IS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK THAT YOU HAVE BOUGHT?

There are SOOO many beautiful books out there. I again…. can’t choose just one. These are some of the books that I have bought this year. There are going to be so many more that come out in the coming months, so keep an eye on my Instagram: cosmiclattesandbooks for more pics of some of the beautiful books that I acquire in the rest of 2020.

WHAT ARE 6 BOOKS THAT YOU WANT TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR?

There are just a few of the books that I have been meaning to read this year, but haven’t gotten to quite yet. I’m really excited for all of these and will hopefully get to them. Have you read any of them? What did you think?

Anyway, that’s it for me. That is my Mid Year Book Freakout post for 2020. I have read a lot of good books, some bad ones, but many great ones! I hope to read many more awesome books with the time left in 2020? What about you? Link your MYBFO posts in the comments below or tell me some of your favorite books!
Have a wonderful day, stay safe, healthy, and as always, keep reading,

~Cam

Leave a comment